There are eight limbs, or parts, in yoga.

  1. Yama – Kindness, Respect, Integrity, “The Golden Rule”
  2. Niyama – Self Discipline
  3. Asana – The physical practice, The actual poses in yoga
  4. Pranayama – Breath
  5. Pratyahara – Focus on self, Blocking out negative influences from the outside world
  6. Dharana – Concentration, Mental Focus
  7. Dhyana – Mediation
  8. Samadhi – Happiness

Girls in the program get a chance to break down these limbs during 75 minute weekly sessions. A typical class starts with an introduction to the day’s theme, followed by a 30 minute asana practice. Once everyone’s had the chance to sweat off their school day, students get to journal, have discussions, mediate, and complete various activities.

The session closes with a “homework assignment” that will motivate the girls to think and practice the theme throughout the week. Parents receive a questions guide so great discussion can continue at home.

One unit lasts 9 weeks, and each unit is different so girls can participate in a whole school year of after school yoga without repeating a unit or feeling bored with the program. Units are also independent of one another, so just because she didn’t do the first 9 weeks, doesn’t mean she can’t do the second.

However she chooses to participate she will leave feeling more focused, more confident, and more ready to take on her world!